About the Foundation

  • History

  • Board and Staff


Crittenton’s tradition of giving began in 1965, when Howard L. McGregor, Jr., donated a portion of his farmland to build a hospital in Rochester. Since then, the support of our donors has continued to save lives and provide medical care to our community.

The Crittenton Foundation Giving Societies acknowledge our donors and their contributions to ensuring a healthy future for our community. The societies are named to honor Crittenton’s Founders: Howard L. McGregor, Jr.; Charles N. Crittenton and Mary S. Eberline.

Howard L. McGregor

Howard L. McGregor, Jr. Society – Annual Giving
Commemorating Giving Throughout the Year
$100 – $99,999
The Crittenton Foundation recognizes that every year many devoted individuals contribute to advancing our mission. Howard L. McGregor, Jr., a local businessman, led the first capital campaign to build our hospital and donated the land on which it stands today. We are pleased to honor donors giving in a single year through the Howard L. McGregor, Jr. Society, paying tribute to those who continue to build and sustain our hospital.

Charles Crittenton

Charles N. Crittenton Society – Cumulative Giving
Commemorating a Lifetime of Compassion
$100,000 +
The Charles N. Crittenton Society honors donors with cumulative contributions of $100,000 or more. Charles N. Crittenton was a visionary philanthropist who established hospitals for women and children across the country in memory of his daughter, who passed away as a young child. Like Mr. Crittenton, cumulative donors have made philanthropy a central part of their lives, enabling our hospital to provide exceptional healthcare with their commitment and generosity.

Mary S. Eberline

Mary S. Eberline Society – Planned Giving
Commemorating Loyalty Through Planned Giving
The Mary S. Eberline Society was established to honor donors who have made a planned or deferred gift to the Crittenton Foundation. This may be a bequest commitment, estate note, life income agreement or another planned giving instrument. This Society is named in memory of Mary S. Eberline, who left a legacy of caring as a dedicated member of the hospital’s Auxiliary and as the first woman to serve on Crittenton’s Board of Trustees.

    Ascension Providence Rochester Hospital Board of Trustees
  • Phillip Bertolini
  • Gerri Birg
  • Tim Crawford
  • Jeffrey DeClaire, MD
  • Robert Dery, Vice Chair
  • Wendy Jones
  • Hon. Julie Nicholson
  • Rosie Rivel
  • Dr. LaSharon Samuels


Ascension Providence Rochester Foundation Staff